Mutterkuh Schweiz

Mutterkuh Schweiz

Mutterkuh Schweiz

Mutterkuh Schweiz

Meat from suckler cow husbandry

Natura-Veal


Suckler cow husbandry
Natura-Veal stands for veal from suckler cow husbandry. In order to meet the strict requirements, the meat has to be pink to “calf-red” in colour, and have a fine-grained texture. The beef cattle breeds guarantee excellent quality beef. For the purposes of producing meat in an animal-friendly fashion, close to nature, comprehensive regulations governing the keeping and feeding of the animals are laid down for this label programme.
 
Natural animal husbandry
The calves are reared by their mothers’ side and have daily access to an outside run. The animals graze extensively on meadow and pasture land. At about 5 months of age the calves are slaughtered immediately after being weaned from their mothers.
 
Natural feeding
The feed consists mainly of the suckler cow’s milk, with the later addition of grass, hay and cereal flakes. The use of growth-enhancing additives, animal proteins, fats and genetically modified animal feed is prohibited.
 
Guaranteed Natura-Veal
Natura-Veal is a label programme of Suckler Cow Switzerland. Production centres are regularly inspected by beef control or the Swiss animal welfare association. Both production and marketing are subject to strict controls.

Certification
By means of a certificate Suckler Cow Switzerland guarantees that Natura-Veal standards have been met for each individual animal with respect to age, provenance, keeping and feeding.

Meat from grass
“ Meat from grass“ – Switzerland is a green country. The maintenance and use of meadowland for suckler cow husbandry is sustainable and conserves resources. The calf drinks the mother’s milk. Like the mother cow it also feeds mainly on grass and hay.

Unlike humans, cows can exploit grass and hay as a food resource because they are ruminants and have a unique digestive system. Grass and hay are thus turned into milk and meat, valuable foodstuffs, giving rise to hardly any competition for food with humans. Raising animals in the suckler cow herd is a natural form of animal husbandry which creates optimum conditions for the well-being and health of the animals. The cows live together with their calves and usually one bull in a family community, both on the pasture and in the cowshed.

Mutterkuh Schweiz

Mutterkuh Schweiz

Mutterkuh Schweiz

Mutterkuh Schweiz

Fleisch aus Mutterkuhhaltung

Natura-Veal


Mutterkuhhaltung
Kalbfleisch aus Mutterkuhhaltung, dafür steht Natura-Veal. Um die hohen Anforderungen zu erfüllen, muss das Fleisch rosa bis kalbrot sein und eine feinfaserige Textur aufweisen. Die Fleischrinderrassen garantieren ausgezeichnete Fleischqualität. Im Sinne einer naturnahen und tierfreundlichen Fleischproduktion sind umfangreiche Haltungs- und Fütterungsbestimmungen für dieses Markenprogramm vorgegeben.

 

Natürliche Tierhaltung
Das Kalb wächst bei seiner Mutter auf und hat täglich Auslauf. Die Tiere nutzen Wiesen und Weiden auf extensive Weise. Die Kälber werden direkt nach dem Absetzen im Alter von rund 5 Monaten geschlachtet.

 

Natürliche Fütterung
Die Fütterung besteht vorwiegend aus Muttermilch, später auch aus Gras, Heu und Getreideflocken. Wachstumsfördernde Zusatzstoffe, tierische Eiweisse und Fette sowie gentechnisch veränderte Futtermittel sind verboten.

 

Garantiert Natura-Veal
Natura-Veal ist ein Markenprogramm von Mutterkuh Schweiz. Die Produktionsbetriebe werden regelmässig von beef control oder dem Schweizer Tierschutz kontrolliert. Sowohl Produktion wie auch Vermarktung stehen unter strenger Prüfung.

Zertifikat
Mit einem Zertifikat garantiert Mutterkuh Schweiz die Einhaltung des Natura-Veal-Standards für jedes einzelne Tier in Bezug auf Alter, Herkunft, Haltung und Fütterung.

Aus Gras wird Fleisch
„Fleisch aus Gras“ – die Schweiz ist ein Grünland. Die Pflege und Nutzung der Wiesen ist mit der Mutterkuhhaltung nachhaltig und ressourcenschonend. Das Kalb trinkt Muttermilch. Dazu ernährt es sich wie die Mutter vorwiegend von Gras und Heu.

Kühe können als Wiederkäuer, im Gegensatz zu uns Menschen, Gras und Heu verwerten. Dies dank ihrem einzigartigen Verdauungssystem. So können aus Gras und Heu die wertvollen Nahrungsmittel Milch und Fleisch produziert werden und es entsteht kaum Nahrungsmittelkonkurrenz für den Menschen.